London Chess Classic Prize-Giving

  • SonofPearl
  • on 11.12.2012, 11:39.

London Chess Classic 2012 logo cropped square.jpgThe players of the 2012 London Chess Classic received their prizes at a ceremony and dinner held at the historic Simpson's-in-the-Strand, where they played simultaneous games against the invited guests!

Magnus Carlsen set the highest ever chess rating during the tournament, beating Garry Kasparov's 13-year old record. 

London is set for even more chess action next year when the 2013 Candidates take place in March 2013 in the city, with the winner challenging Vishy Anand for the world title in October/November 2013.

The eight players in the 2013 London candidates tournament are:

  • Boris Gelfand (loser of the 2012 World Championship)
  • The top 3 in the 2011 World Cup (Peter Svidler, Alexander Grischuk, Vassily Ivanchuk)
  • The top 3 rated players not otherwise qualified (Magnus Carlsen, Lev Aronian, Vladimir Kramnik)
  • A wildcard nominee from the original hosts Azerbaijan (Teimour Radjabov)

So this is not so much goodbye to London, more like "au revoir"!

Before then Magnus Carlsen, Lev Aronian, Vishy Anand and Hikaru Nakamura are among the GMs taking part in the 2013 Tata Steel tournament in Wijk Aan Zee, from 11-27 January 2013.

Many thanks to Ray Morris-Hill for the great photos below, and throughout the tournament!

Magnus Carlsen received €50,000 for first place

London Chess Classic 2012 Preizegiving Magnus Carlsen winner.jpg


Judit Polgar

London Chess Classic 2012 Prizegiving Judit Polgar.jpg


Lev Aronian, Luke McShane and Gawain Jones

London Chess Classic 2012 Prizegiving Lev Aronian Luke McShane Gawain Jones.jpg


Vishy Anand with his wife Aruna

London Chess Classic 2012 Prizegiving Vishy Anand Aruna.jpg


The opulent surroundings of Simpson's-in-the-Strand

London Chess Classic 2012 Prizegiving Simpsons-in-the-Strand.jpg


Lev Aronian during the simultaneous display against the guests

London Chess Classic 2012 Prizegiving Lev Aronian.jpg


Gawain Jones

London Chess Classic 2012 Prizegiving Gawain Jones.jpg


Mickey Adams

London Chess Classic 2012 Prizegiving Mickey Adams.jpg


Magnus Carlsen

London Chess Classic 2012 Prizegiving Magnus Carlsen.jpg


Hikaru Nakamura

London Chess Classic 2012 Prizegiving Hikaru Nakamura.jpg


Czytano 10561 razy 27 komentarze
7 głosów


  • 4 lat temu


    @SonofPearl Thanks for the info! I'm actually excited to watch the games now Laughing

  • 4 lat temu


    @ Aknaim - yes, the Candidates will be an eight-player double round-robin tournament from 13-31 March.

  • 4 lat temu


    What is the theory of chess which Carlsen knows very well and other knows lesser than Carlsen?

  • 4 lat temu


    The candidates tournament was changed to a round robin was it not?

    I hope its not like the last one, that was a really bad format.

Powrót na górę

Wyślij odpowiedź: